Week One

So, we’ve lasted a week.

Seven days into Third Floor Espresso I’m looking back on a week that has been really pleasing for me both professionally and personally. The culmination of weeks of planning and organising has culminated into a tiny little shop in the heart of my home town that I really really love. True, there are points to improve on, areas to fix and a lot more hard work in the future but if someone had offered me this opening week I would have bitten their hand off.

There are 3 things that have perhaps been more pleasing than any other aspect of the shop. Firstly, the coffee. I thought Steve would throw together a blend and maybe garnish it with a decent coffee but true to form he really went all out on our first seasonal blend, “Frosty”. Machacamarca, La Illusion and Sao Judas are all spectacular coffees on their own but collectively they become what is quite frankly one of the best, if not the best, espressos I have ever tasted. It makes my job very easy.

Secondly is the response of the customers. A huge part of me was afraid that the insistence on small cups, pushing filter coffee, not doing syrups and other coffee-nut tendencies might scare off Joe public but the opposite has been the case. Customers are really embracing the “enough” policy of 3FE as well as the approach to coffee as a luxury and not a fuel. (Having Dave Walsh there to help out is a value add if ever there was one too)

Finally, the thing thats really made it for me is the fact that I really love the shop. I opened today for 4 hours, not because I had to, but because I wanted to. There are hard times ahead for Third Floor Espresso but this week will always be something that I’ll look back on with an enormous amount of pleasure.

p.s. Thanks to all the coffee folk who dropped in this week to lend their support, your advice and opinions are very much appreciated. I will refrain from naming you lest I leave someone out 😉

10 thoughts on “Week One

  1. aaron says:

    First one on the new comment boards. (See, I do SORTA keep up on the blog world still.) I thought I was being minimalist with six beverages and no condiment bar. You’ve taken it to new heights with four. The man. That’s really what you are. Wish I could visit in person.

  2. Luke says:

    Congrats and best of luck. Not sure I will ever get to visit but sounds like you have a lot to be proud of already.

  3. rob dunne says:

    well done.. i much appreciate a decent place to grab a tasty beverage and a friendly chat. you’ve got the ball rolling in Dublin.. much needed.

  4. Hi Colin!

    Congratulations! I´m really happy u managed to open the shop in time and I really look forward to visiting in the near future.

    Thanks for a great week in Japan. I finished my last bag of Honduras today and I´m amazed over how long the coffees keep their freshness.

    Anyway,.. Keep up the good work, hopefully you´ll have time for a couple of beers when you´re in Copenhagen with Fritz.

    Take care. / Daniel

  5. Hugo says:

    Brilliant approach, I wish I had the balls to cut my menu down to that…
    Many congratulations, I hope you thrive!

  6. Will Corby says:

    Hi Colin,
    We’ve never met but I have followed you around the world on your blog and twitter for a long time now! All I can say is from what I have heard you say and seen you do, you really deserve every success. Congratulations on a great start and I hope the new year brings great prosperity!

  7. Julie Murray says:

    Colin – you knocked my socks off with the first God Shot I’ve had in probably a year, many thanks.

  8. rob says:

    Colin,
    Great news.
    And an extra reason to visit Dublin in the near future.
    Cheers,
    Rob
    Antwerp Barista

  9. acupofisa says:

    hey Colin,

    writing to you from Belgium… as i see from several comments, you’ve got so much support that you don’t even know of 🙂 same here, been following your blog and tweets and tamper tantrum videos… I even watched your wbc performance several times as an inspiration for my own performance on last years bbc.
    Congrats on the opening of the shop. Your career in coffee has been incredible and very inspiring (as I’ve only started working as a barista last april). Lots of succes; hope to pay you a visit and taste your delicious shots soon!

    isa

  10. Hayley Draper says:

    Colin!!!!
    Good on ya. Its extremely hard work but so satisfying.
    I’m weeks away from opening a tiny coffee room In Norwich. Also getting beans from the Guru Steve. I’m nervous about my first week. Gulp.
    Keep up the good work. What an inspiration.
    Visiting Dublin at Easter. See you then.

Leave a Reply

